Journey to Kuching

My journey into borneo was eventful, as when ambled up to the singapore airlines check in desk at 5am, I was greated by confussed smiles. My flight number was written on the screen above their heads but they seem completely baffled as to why I was suggesting I wanted to check onto the flight…they kind of giggled to each other and went on to inform me that the flight was cancelled months ago. why they were sat there looking like they were waiting to do some work I have idea. I hadn’t been informed of this, but this was the first of 5 flights I had amended a few month earlier over the phone!

I had to get this one to make a connecting flight, i chatted this through with them, and they were really helpful, got be transfered onto another airline. The whole thing didn’t bother me in the slightest, I really don’t mind this side of travelling, I just see it all as an experience..and roll with it. nothing so far has seemed to stress me, I have just been enjoying it all. That might sound abit rosey but hey, I have nothing to complain about this trip is fab, I aint going to let anything minor things change my mind set.

At Singapore there are a few more issues with my flights, as something hasn’t been processed by someone, so my details aren’t coming through. after an hour or so they sort it and I just make the flight. I am really excited about arriving in kuching, eager to get stuck in and meet all the animals.

As I arrive through the arrival gate, a malay guy walks straight up to me ‘hey dawn, i am richard’…maybe my monkey t-shirt with I fling poo, exposed me as a volunteer or that I was the only westerner coming off the plane. I meet one of the other volunteers.

I am not sure what I was expecting, but Kuching, Malaysian Borneo was alot more developed that I had imagined…a seven eleven, a hilton hotel, designer brands…but this didn’t hamper the place as the character was not lost. There are lots of little side streets to explore, markets, stalls, temples and musuems. We spent our first night meetinng each other at the Singgahsana Lodge, which I highly recommend…it has loads of character with a great bar on the top floor and the rooms are comfortable with good air conditioning, warm showers, keep laundry service £1 per kg.

We all met in the top bar, its 8 girls and one guy, they all seem okay with one exception! We had a great evening chatting with Leo Biddle joining us around 7pm to welcome us, tell us more about the project and answer our questions. I am all ears, as I am fascinated by what he has to say, keen to learn as much as possiable about the project, the animals, the conservation issues etc…well it quickly become apparent that leo likes to talk, so gaining information will clearly not be an issue. 🙂

No comments yet»

Leave a comment